top of page

Tincture Tutorial


Here's how I made my own cannabis tincture at home..

Now please forgive the video as I had rushed a little bit to get it out. I will be redoing and replacing it with a new video as soon as I make my next batch.


This particular tincture was made with Lemon Haze which is a great sativa dominant strain that really resonated with me at the time. I experience a ton of fatigue on a regular basis and this really helps to get me moving and doing what needs to get done around the house.


My next batch of oil will be an indica dominant strain because now I am needing a nice tincture to help me wind down at night so that I can get some quality sleep.


You will need to decarb your cannabis prior to adding it to your oil infusion if you want to have the THC activated so that you experience the elevated effects of consuming it.


I chose olive oil for this recipe because it was already on hand when I decided to whip up a batch but you can use coconut oil, MCT oil, sunflower oil or whatever oil you prefer as oil is awesome for absorbing the cannabinoids from your cannabis.


What you need for this recipe:

1. 1 cup of cannabis - grounded up

2. 1 cup of oil of your choice

3. Crock pot and glass container (or double boiler)

4. Baking sheet

5. Tin foil

6. Cheese cloth is recommended but I used coffee filters


Instructions

- First things first you want to preheat the oven at 250 degrees

- Next you want to add 1 cup of cannabis to your baking sheet and cover it with tinfoil

- Then pop it in the oven for about 30 minutes to activate the THC

- While that is in the oven, you want to take 1 cup of the oil of your choice and put it into either a double boiler or wing it like I did and put it into a glass container

- Once the cannabis is out of the oven you can pour it directly into your cup of oil and make sure all the cannabis is submerged

- Put it on the double boiler or throw it into your crock pot with a little bit of water

- You want to allow the cannabis to absorb into the oil for about 12 hrs on high

- After letting the cannabis soak in the oil you will then pour it through your cheesecloth or coffee filters to strain out all of the cannabis so you are left with a nice clean oil

- Then you can store it in tincture bottles for easy access to your cannabis oil


It's as simple as that to have a nice oil on hand that you can use whenever you need some relief.


I will be honest and say that it doesn't taste very good as it's just olive oil infused with cannabis so it has a very earthy flavour, but let's be real I haven't ever purchased a tincture that tasted very good.


If you have suggestions of something to add to the oil to make it taste a little better please let me know in the comments below as I will be making another batch for nighttime very soon!


Hope you enjoyed this tutorial.

Happy oil-making!


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page