top of page

Cannabis Infused Butter Tutorial

Updated: Apr 14, 2019



What you need for this recipe:

1. Crock Pot

2. Cheesecloth

3. Kitchen String

4. 2 Sticks of UNSALTED butter

5. Half oz of dried cannabis trim or flower


I picked this recipe up in my CTU training and I was looking for a good excuse to use it. As I am writing this it has been a week since my fiancé's surgery and he has been using baked goods made with this butter to help relieve his discomfort and promote healing.


I used a strain called Querkle for this batch as it is what we had at the time. It is a pretty nice hybrid that I like because it starts off with a nice boost of energy that slowly fades into a super relaxed state.


As I said in the video, you can pick and choose whatever strain you want depending on the desired effects that you are looking for. Leafly.com is a great resource for looking up strain information and to see all the terpenes, percentage of CBD and THC content, and different medicinal benefits each strain has.


This was the first time I have ever made canna butter and I made a couple mistakes along the way which I will share with you so that you can have a smoother experience than I did! It was an opportunity to learn what works and what doesn't and I also learned that this type of recipe takes about a day to complete so prepare for it to be in for the long haul!


Let's Get Started!


- put your two sticks of unsalted butter in the crockpot on WARM (lowest possible setting) and let them melt completely


- pour melted butter into a glass container and put into the fridge for 2-3 hours to solidify and separate


Separating the butter is important because you want to remove the butter solids, or that yucky white stuff that you will notice accumulating at the bottom as your melted butter solidifies over the next couple hours.


Once you separate the butter you will want to put all that yellow clarified butter back into the crockpot. This step is important because once the solids are removed it becomes the purest possible butterfat. Cannabinoids like the THC and CBD that you want are fat soluble so the higher the fat content in your butter the better the cannabinoids will be absorbed into your butter, and that is exactly what you want!


- Once butter is separated, remove the yellow purified butter from the container and put it back into the crock pot on WARM (I made the mistake of putting it in on low at this point in my butter making process, but it was only for about an hour and it started to burn so be cautious that your crockpot is not too hot)


- At this point you can follow the instructions in the video to make your quid by placing your finely grounded cannabis into your cheesecloth and tying it up nice and tight


- Once your quid is made you can throw it right into the crock pot with your purified butter and then let it soak in there for anywhere from 12-24 hours.


- Once your quid has had time to soak you can ring it out and remove it from the butter


-You will notice that your butter is a nice green colour


*Because I had made the mistake of having my crockpot too hot I had some burnt stuff in the crockpot so at this point I strained the butter through a cheesecloth as I was pouring it into my glass container


- Once your quid is removed you can pour your butter into a glass container and than stick it in the fridge for a few hours to solidify


And then you can use the butter in any recipe that you want!


I noticed that my butter tasted strongly of cannabis so I would recommend putting it into a recipe that is full of flavour because my rice crispy squares tasted like bud lol! But I also used it in a banana bread recipe and you can't taste it at all!


If you try this recipe let me know how it worked for you!









76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page